The TRANSFORMER awards are presented to individuals who are transforming the profession through leadership, community, responsibility, diversity, and results in three categories:

Industry Leaders – Colleagues of all ranks who have made a significant impact on the financial and retirement security profession

Innovators – Individuals who embody change and progress and are consistently raising the bar in their field

Rising Stars – Blossoming career individuals who are in the early stages of their career and already making their mark

Past Recipients

2019 “Rising Star” – Andrea Dykes
2019 “Innovator” – Brooks Tingle

Jerry Sherman Award

The Gerald H. Sherman Service Award, named for its first recipient, is a prestigious recognition of the accomplishments and contributions made in helping AALU fulfill its mission to  strengthen, grow, promote, and advocate for the life insurance community. Gerald (Jerry) Sherman was AALU’s Chief Counsel and long-time author of The Washington Report. During his 60 year partnership with AALU, Jerry was our steadfast advocate and our passionate leader. Through this award, he remains a legend of AALU.

Past Recipients

2018 – Nathan Perlmutter 2011 – Stuart Lewis
2017 – Chairman Bill Archer & Senator Kent Conrad 2010 – Robert Preble
2016 – Campbell Gerrish 2008 – Peter Mullin
2015 – Robert Plybon 2007 – John Todd
2014 – Mac Nease, III 2005 – Gerald Sherman
2013 – Ken Cohen
2012 – David Downey